Skip to content

ABJ Radio Broadcast

May 5, 2011

I’ve realised that I havn’t blogged about my other Journalism unit, Advance Broadcast Journalism, and it is feeling a little left out.  This semester has been a really interesting one, with a lot of exciting assessments.  First up was a radio broadcast.

For the Radio broadcast assessment, we had to work in teams of 4-6 reporters/producers to produce a ½ hour radio program focused on a theme of our choice, with an emphasis on news and current affairs.  The program had to comprise of 30 minutes of current affairs.
We were assigned roles within our teams (presenter, field reporter, news executive producer, interviewer, current affairs reporter/producer, program executive producer, technical producer).  My ultimate aim is to do pieces on my lonesome, so I like to get to know the techy side of producing journalistic pieces.  As such, I chose to be the Technical Producer for our program.
The program was to be a mix of current affairs stories: field interviews; packages; at least one live studio interview and a maximum of 2 music tracks (which could not breach copyright of course!)  Luckily, I have a very talented group of friends and so I was able to use some of their music on the program.   The band is Sista Loops and the Moh Scale – Island Flava and I would upload it, however it would cost me money, and money is something I don’t have a lot of, so you will have to take my word for it.

The program as a whole had to explain issues, deepen knowledge, engage listeners, inform in an entertaining manner and use a range of natural sounds and effects. Wherever possible, the content had to be either in studio or recorded face-to-face in the field – minimising the reliance on phone interviews in the interests of maximising the power of the audio.

Next installment will detail how it all went down.

From → Online News

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

